Skip to Content
Fund Spy

Runners-Up for Manager of the Year

Two outstanding managers deserve recognition.

Mentioned: , , , , ,

We want to recognize our runners-up for Morningstar Manager of the Year 2010. These are managers who did outstanding jobs for investors and finished second in our analysts' vote. The Manager of the Year award is really more of a Hall of Fame recognition. We want to recognize managers who have made a lot of money for investors over the long haul and done so in a way that shows they take their duties to shareholders seriously. Our Analyst Picks, meanwhile, are meant as recommendations of what to own for the next 10 years. Click  here to see them.

Many past runners-up have gone on to win Manager of the Year. For example,  Vanguard Capital Opportunity (VHCOX) managers Howard Schow, Theo Kolokotrones, and Joel Fried were runners-up in 1999 with a 99% return but went on to win in 2003. That same year,  American Funds EuroPacific Growth (AEPGX) was a runner-up, and it won in 2009. In 2004,  Loomis Sayles Bond's  (LSBRX) Dan Fuss and Kathleen Gaffney were runners-up, and they claimed the prize in 2009. In 2005, Jeffrey Gundlach at  TCW Total Return Bond  (TGLMX) was runner-up but brought home the prize in 2006.

This year we are naming runners-up for domestic-stock and fixed-income. We are not naming an international-stock runner-up because no clear second-place finisher emerged in our vote for Manager of the Year. Click here to see the nominees.

To view this article, become a Morningstar Basic member.

Register for Free

Russel Kinnel has a position in the following securities mentioned above: VHCOX, LSBRX. Find out about Morningstar’s editorial policies.